Tank Destroyer Society

                                   WWII Tank Destroyer Society logo-2

The Tank Destroyers-WWII-Fort Benning Association (14 TD Battalions) funded and dedicated an appropriate 50th Golden Anniversary Tank Destroyer Monument on November 9, 1995 on the grounds of the National Infantry Museum, Ft Benning, GA.  In January, 1996, this group became national as the WWII Tank Destroyer Society, publishing the PANTHER PRESS newsletter three times a year.

On July 4, 1997, the group held a reunion at Fort Sill, OK, and dedicated a Tank Destroyer Monument with four plaques. The Tank Destroyer Society gathered again, this time at Fort Knox, KY, around November 11, 1999, to dedicate the addition of two more plaques to the Tank Destroyer Association Monument that was placed there in 1989, one reflecting 85 Tank Destroyer combat formations and the other to commemorate the five TD Servicemen that received the Medal of Honor.

Along with the publication of their newsletter, the Tank Destroyer Society also established a website under their name.  This site became a vital resource for all those looking for information on the Tank Destroyer Forces.  

Portions of the above text were prepared by COL. Cecil R. French (retired) and used by permission.

Tank Destroyer Society Officers 2007-2009:  Calvin C. Boykin, President; Bart Botta, 1st Vice President; Bob French, Secretary/Treasurer; Bill Oettle, Vice President; Ken LeLacheur, Vice President/Editor; Dayton Edie, Vice President; Fredrick Wolff, Vice President; Pat Chase, Vice President/Co-Historian; Doris French, Office Manager; Harold Tetlie, Chaplain.

Tank Destroyer Forces History

History of the Association and Society – by past Society President William Oettle (805th)

Photo Gallery – TD Association and TD Society